South West Sydney Clinical Campuses

Ingham Awards Celebrate Research Excellence in the South West

Please join the School in congratulating a number of our colleagues who have received awards as part of the Ingham Institute for Applied Medical Research Awards Night held last evening.

The main award of the evening was the Lady Mary Fairfax Distinguished Researcher prize which went to UNSW Professor Guy Marks. This award recognises an individual who has made a very large contribution to research in the south west of Sydney and Guy is a very worthy recipient given his significant career achievements. Guy also received the South Western Sydney Clinical School Distinguished Research Prize at our student dinner a couple of weeks ago; and was also recognised by the NHMRC in an award ceremony earlier this year having been the highest ranked NHMRC Fellowship candidate in the most recent round of applications.

We would like to thank Amanda Larkin, Chief Executive of the Local Health District, for her support for research development by establishing a new Mid Career Support Program and Early Career Researchers Program. The SWSLHD Mid-Career Support Program provides $60,000 per year for three years to a single researcher to further develop their academic activities. A very worthy recipient for this year is Dr Susan Connor. Susie has been a long term contributor to the School having been involved in teaching, research and the supervision of both ILP and postgraduate students and I am very pleased that her efforts have been recognised through this program.

The SWSLHD Early Career Researchers Program provides support for both travel and infrastructure for the recipient and funds to support a senior researcher to mentor the early career researcher. Five recipients of the Program were awarded this year including Dr James Otton, Mr Jarrad Begg, Mr Matthew Malone, Dr Wei Chua and Dr Weng Ng.

Other major awards went to Dr Bjorn Espedido who won the Liverpool City Council Early Career Researcher prize; along with the SWSLHD Excellence in Teaching Prize to Professor Iain Gosbell.

Mr David Lynch was awarded the Research Director's PhD Scholarship and CHETRE received the Liverpool Catholic Club Best Community Paper prize.

A number of grants were also presented including:

  • the Dart West Developments Breast Cancer Grant awarded to Dr Janelle Levesque and Professor Afaf Girgis;
  • the Douglas Partners Breast Cancer Grant to Ms Vikneswary Batumalai, A/Professor Gary Liney and Dr Lois Holloway;
  • the OCAGI Oesophageal Cancer Grant to Professor Shan Rajendra and Dr Bin Wang; and
  • the Perich Group Diabetes Research Grant to Dr Namson Lau, Dr Lili Yuen, Ms Anne Walsh and Mr Matthew Malone.

The Ingham Institute Research and Teaching Awards are yet another opportunity to celebrate the enormous commitment being made to academic medicine and healthcare in south western Sydney.

On behalf of UNSW, we would like to both congratulate the recipients, but thank all those who have contributed to this success including the Institute, the Local Health District, the university partners and the sponsors of the awards. 

Date Published
Friday, 21 November 2014

Subscribe to News & Events

Subscribe RSS Feed

Back to Top