South Western Sydney Clinical School

Congratulations to Professor Jeremy Wilson AO

Please join the School in congratulating Professor Jeremy Wilson who has been recognised with an award in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Jeremy has been named as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the General Division for distinguished service to medicine as a pancreatologist, to medical administration and clinical governance, to education as an academic, researcher and mentor, and to professional associations.
Jeremy is recognised nationally and internationally for his pioneering work in the areas of pancreatitis, pancreatic fibrogenesis and pancreatic cancer. In a research career spanning more than 35 years, he has been responsible for a number of key scientific discoveries. After completing his MD by research under the supervision of his long time mentor Professor Ron Pirola, he continued his work at Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York under the tutelage of Professor Charles Lieber. After three years, he returned to Australia and, in 1987, founded the Pancreatic Research Group in collaboration Professor Pirola OAM. In 1987, (now Professor) Minoti Apte OAM joined the Group. From the early 1990s until the present, the Group has been led by the “triumvirate” of Apte, Pirola and Wilson, with Minoti being  “prima inter pares” (Jeremy’s term).

The Group became the first in the world to successfully isolate and culture pancreatic stellate cells which opened a new field in pancreatology. The Group was the first to establish a key role for pancreatic stellate cells in the fibrosis of chronic pancreatitis and in the desmoplasia of pancreatic cancer. The Group also established that pancreatic stellate cells promote the local growth of pancreatic cancer and also migrate with cancer cells to distant metastatic sites.

Jeremy's research is held in very high regard with more than 5880 citations of his 154 publications. He has an h-Index of 41. He was awarded Fellowship of the American Gastroenterological Association and of the Royal College of Physicians London on the basis of his research. His lifetime commitment to pancreatology has been recognised by an inaugural award from the Australasian Pancreatic Club in which he served as an early President. He was awarded the Ingham Institute Lady Mary Fairfax Distinguished Researcher Award in 2016.

As a measure of his international esteem, Professor Wilson has recently completed two terms as the Secretary General of the International Association of Pancreatology (IAP). Under his leadership, the IAP has seen a ten-fold plus growth in membership; has opened up membership in China, South Korea, India and Latin America and has seen a significant increase in the growth of the IAP Journal, Pancreatology.

Jeremy has made a very significant contribution to south western Sydney including leadership of The Way Forward plan for healthcare reform in this area, as Chair of the former SSWAHS Area Health Advisory Council (AHAC), and as Chair of the oversight committee for the redevelopment of Liverpool Hospital. He is the current Chair of the SWSLHD Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC) and the Ingham Institute Clinical Skills and Simulation Centre Governance, Management and Planning Committee. He played a major role in attracting funds to construct the $10m Ingham Institute Clinical Skills and Simulation Centre and the establishment of the $4m conferencing network for students in south western Sydney. In his role as Clinical Associate Dean, he is responsible for the UNSW undergraduate and postgraduate programs in south western Sydney. He is the Regional Examiner for the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and is responsible for the Basic Physician Training Program at Liverpool Hospital.

Jeremy is also the Co-Chair of the NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation Acute Care Taskforce which over the last 12 years has been responsible for the development of new models of care for medical patients in acute facilities across NSW, including Medical Assessment Units, Avoidable Admissions, Clinical Handover and Criteria-led Discharge. He has been a member of the Clinical Council of the Clinical Excellence Commission (CEC) and is a member of the Leadership Forum of the CEC.

Date Published
Monday, 12 June 2017
Back to Top